Tags

, ,

Image-1 2O Give Thanks….

Lately, more complaints have come out of my mouth than words of thanksgiving.

That’s not good.

As a Christian, I ought to be doing less complaining and more thanking. The Bible offers many  verses about giving thanks. Here are some,  with a few thoughts on what these Scriptures spoke to me in my season of complaints. I hope that God’s Word inspires you, as it did me, to focus on thankfulness:

IMG_0592

“All circumstances” … ouch. This is a tough one to read. Really God? Even circumstances I don’t like? Pretty sure God is nodding his head yes.

Psalm 107:1 – Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!

So comforting.

Ephesians 5:20 – Giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Colossians 3:15-17 – And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Beautiful.

Image-1-1 2.jpg

Philippians 4:6 – Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

“with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” Wow, this one really struck me. It’s okay to make my requests known…which I’ve been doing, but my requests have been anxious and not in the spirit of thanksgiving. Time to change my prayers of complaints to confident prayers of thanksgiving to God that He WILL help me and hear me.

2 Corinthians 9:15 -Thanks be to God for his inexpressible gift!

Psalm 105:1 – Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name; make known his deeds among the peoples!

I’ve not done much of this lately. He’s done so many good deeds in my life and I should always make them known.

Hebrews 12:28-29 – Therefore, since we receive a kingdom which cannot be shaken, let us show gratitude, by which we may offer to God an acceptable service with reverence and awe; for our God is a consuming fire.

Powerful!

Psalm 28:7 -The LORD is my strength and my shield; My heart trusts in Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart exults, And with my song I shall thank Him.

Does my heart trust in him? Completely? I say I do, but if I did, wouldn’t my heart be filled with joy? I’ve really got to readjust my thinking.

Psalm 69:30 – I will praise the name of God with song, And shall magnify Him with thanksgiving.

Amen!

Colossians 2:6-7 – Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him and established in your faith, just as you were instructed, and overflowing with gratitude.

What a beautiful reminder.

Psalm 34:1 – I will bless the LORD at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.

Image-1-2

Psalm 100:4 – Enter His gates with thanksgiving, And His courts with praise. Give thanks to Him; bless His name.

Jonah 2:9 – But I will sacrifice to You With the voice of thanksgiving. That which I have vowed I will pay Salvation is from the LORD.”

Ephesians 5:3-4 – But immorality or any impurity or greed must not even be named among you, as is proper among saints; and there must be no filthiness and silly talk, or coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks.

1 Timothy 4:4-5 – For everything created by God is good, and nothing is to be rejected, if it is received with gratitude; for it is sanctified by means of the word of God and prayer.

Well, I’m humbled now. And am going to do my best to be more thankful. God is good. His mercy endures forever. Thank God it does. I’ve had a ungrateful heart lately…thank you Lord, for your mercy. Thank you Lord for EVERYTHING!

Happy Thanksgiving all.

Image-1-3