Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weird, but this morning I woke  from a dream about a beautiful unicorn. I have no idea what that means, but I took it as a good sign. I googled dream meanings, and it said dreams of Unicorn mean hidden strength. And did you know Unicorns are mentioned in the Bible, several times, including these:

KJV Numbers 23:22 God brought them out of Egypt; he hath as it were the strength of an unicorn.

KJV Psalm 92:10. But my horn shalt thou exalt like the horn of an unicorn: I shall be anointed with fresh oil.

And I found this online: Unicorn: the unicorn — mentioned in the Bible, by the way: see Psalm 21:22, 28:6 (Psalms 22 and 29 in the King James Bible), 92:11; and Isaias 34:7 — is a symbol of chastity and of Christ Himself. Medieval legend had it that the unicorn, a feisty and fierce animal, could not be easily hunted, but if a virgin were to sit in the forest, the unicorn would find her and lay its head upon her lap. The hunter could then come by and take its horn, which was seen as having profound medical qualities (for ex., it was said to eliminate the harmful effects of a poisoned liquid). The picturing of a virgin and unicorn together, then, was common during the Age of Faith — the former representing Our Lady, and the latter representing Christ, Who brought forth the “horn of salvation.”

And because it’s NFL DRAFT WEEK, I’ll just post this link to a unbeleivable, but true story (from my blog) about a little baby (my son) who kicked open an incubator door, was diagnosed with juvenile diabetes, then went onto play college football at the University of Wisconsin. (If you read it already, at least pray and root for Jake, as he has chance to get drafted in the NFL.) Draft process begins Thursday. I’ll keep you informed through my blog and twitter. And if you want to read more about Jake, I also write about him (and other stuff) in these posts:

http://writingstraight.com/2012/02/19/nfl-aspirations-and-novelist-dreams-follow-the-fairytales-as-they-come-true/

http://writingstraight.com/2012/04/02/a-to-z-challenge-b-is-for-blessings/ (SO to Betsy and Nick, my other children, who are equally as brilliant, cute and talented as Jake).

http://writingstraight.com/2012/02/15/how-does-it-all-connect/

And, just because there are so many other good blogs in the A to Z challenge, I’d like to give a shout out to:

1. Erin M Hartshorn, Science fiction and fantasy author, because she blogs about Unicorns today, too.

2. Nate Wilson’s: Sometimes the Wheel is on Fire, because I found his blog posts fascinating.

3. Rosalind Adams is Writing in the Rain. Rosalind is a writer, workshop leader, wife, mother, committed worrier and nostalgia obsessive.

4. Dawn Malone’s: Here’s the story. About Musings About Books, Writing, and Little Inspirations That Grow Big Stories. It’s a really nice blog. I liked it!

5. By Word of Beth because I like her blog topics: Writing, Reading, the Arts, and Life.

Ok, gotta finish edits TONIGHT, so I can be more creative with V.